[home page][map of the server][news of the server][forums][publications][Yabloko's Views]

ITAR-TASS, December 21, 2003

Yabloko to concentrate on local elections for next four years

By Natalia Panshina

MOSCOW, December 21 (Itar-Tass) -- The Yabloko Party will concentrate on regional and municipal elections for the next four years in order to lay the a foundations for "a big democratic party," Yabloko leader Grigory Yavlinsky told the press during a break of the party congress.

Congress delegates have called for "a democratic coalition with other democratic parties and movements" and supported the initiative of the Union of Right-Wing Forces to set up a joint democratic council. Vladimir Lukin, Alexei Arbatov, Igor Artemyev, Boris Misnik, Sergei Mitrokhin and Viktor Sheinis are assigned to the council, which the two parties are forming on a parity basis.

The Union of Right-Wing Forces (SPS) suggested forming the council a week ago and assigned six representatives, including Boris Nemtsov, Irina Khakamada and Yegor Gaidar.

The Right had thought that the democratic council would seek a common candidate of the Union of Right-Wing Forces and Yabloko in the presidential elections, but related consultations were abortive.

The Union of Right-Wing Forces decided not to take part in the presidential elections and called on its supporters to vote against all candidates. Yabloko did not nominate any candidate either.

The resolution of the Yabloko congress says that the party should concentrate on local elections and "monitor compliance with election laws."

The resolution attributes Yabloko's failure in the Duma elections "to the unlimited use of administrative resources and large-scale falsification of vote-counting."


See also:


Presidential elections 2004

The 12th Congress of YABLOKO

Regional elections

ITAR-TASS, December 21, 2003

[home page][map of the server][news of the server][forums][publications][Yabloko's Views]

Project Director: Vyacheslav Erohin e-mail: admin@yabloko.ru Director: Olga Radayeva, e-mail: english@yabloko.ru
Administrator: Vlad Smirnov, e-mail: vladislav.smirnov@yabloko.ru